Contest Aperçu

We’ve listed the rules, finalists, and winners for each writing contest. Like us on Facebook and subscribe to contest posts and RSS feeds for updates.

General Rules for All Writing Contests

Exceptions will be listed under individual contest posts.

Publishing rights:  By submitting your work, you are giving AWwYP the right to publish your work on this site and one-time rights in hard copy,  after which all rights revert back to the author.  We reserve the right not to publish anything that is sent to us.

Cost to enter: varies from contest to contest. Refer to the current contest on the navigation menu.


  • MS Word compatible (.doc or .rtf; please do NOT use docx, as some of our editors do not use Word for PC)
  • Double-spaced
  • 12-point Times New Roman font
  • Title, author at top (will be displayed if published)
  • Author email and contact info (will not display)
  • Optional: link to your website and a request to post link at the end of your story

Contest List

The First Annual Beaviss and Butthead Literary Merit Scholarship Award

Date: Sept. 24 to Oct. 10, 2012 (Contest closes at midnight, PDT 10/10/12)

Prompt:  Submit the title of your favorite book and a one paragraph explanation as to why you liked it.  See the blog post for full instructions.

Genre:  Essay
Word Limit: One paragraph
Entry Limit: One per author
Submit to: Attachment to email to

Judging: Editor-in-Chief, Thorn Sully will make the selection
Prize:  Check for $1.87, and a plaque honoring the achievement
Finalists: n/a
Winner:: To be announced

You Didn’t Write That

Date: Sept. 17, 2012 to Oct. 15, 2012 (Contest closes at midnight, 10/15)

Prompt: A story that uses the words “You didn’t write that.” We’ll settle for entertainment, but we’re looking for something that reveals the inner reasons why you can’t beat the writing habit.  See the blog post for full instructions.

Word Limit: 150-200 words
Entry Limit: Up to two entries per author
Submit to: Attachment to email to

Judging: Three finalists will be immediately selected, from which a final winner will be chosen.
Prize:  To be announced
Finalists: To be announced
Winner: To be announced